Mebane Sports Hall of Fame

The Mebane Sports Hall of Fame recognizes and perpetuates the noteworthy athletic tradition of the Mebane Community by honoring and memorializing individuals and /or organizations that have made outstanding contributions to this tradition.

Due to the Uncertainty of the COVID-19 Pandemic, the Mebane Sports Hall of Fame has been postponed to 2021. 

Mebane Sports Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony Information

Date: Saturday, June 19th, 2021

Time: 5:00-8:00pm

Where: Mebane Arts and Community Center - 633 Corrigedor Dr. Mebane, NC 27302

Tickets: $25.00 per person (Tables will seat a maximum of 8)

Purchase Tickets HERE or visit the Mebane Arts and Community Center during normal business hours.

2021 Mebane Sports Hall of Fame Inductees

JJ Knox began teaching and coaching at Eastern Alamance High School in 1977 and 1979, respectively.  He started the Cross-Country Program in 1979 and took over as head track coach in 1981. In 1980 Coach Knox started the indoor track program.  Coach Knox led his CC and Track teams to numerous conferences, regional and state championships.  The Eastern Alamance track and a trail at Lake Michael Park have been named after coach Knox.

Tyrone Satterfield is one of, if not, the best basketball players in the history of Eastern Alamance High School.  Tyrone was a varsity player for the Eagles from 1988-1991 and helped the 1991 team to the 3A State Championship.  Tyrone was named Mid State Conference Player of the Year in both his Junior and Senior Seasons.

Charles Smith is known as the first player to make a basket in a game for Eastern Alamance High School and was also in their first graduating class.  Mr. Smith was named to the 1963 All-State Team and was MVP of Alamance County that same year.  Gerald was the only basketball player from Eastern Alamance for 41 years to play college basketball.

2005 Eastern Alamance Women's Relay State Champions -
The five women who combined for the 2005, 4x200 and 4x400 state championship relay teams are; Augusta Bartis, Hannah Flippin, Lakeyshia Foust, Fairren Thompson, and Courtney White.  Those participating in the 4x400 held the state record for 14 years until it was broken in 2019.  These ladies were coached by Anthony Noel and truly wanted the best for each other.  The five ladies were interchangeable, and once they had won the 4x400 relay, they changed out one member to create an “all seniors” team and won the 4x200.

2021 Mebane Sports Hall of Honor Inductees

Glendel Stephenson is the recently retired mayor of the City of Mebane with 35 years of service.  Stephenson saw the City grow from 2,600 to 16,000 people, which includes all the athletes both in the Recreation and Parks programs and at Eastern Alamance.  Stephenson supported numerous Athletic Facility additions and improvements, including the new Mebane Community Park.

Chip Foushee - 
Served as President. Vice President, Treasurer, or Board Member each year since MYSA’s inception. Chip coached Co-ed Recreation teams ages 4 through 8 and High School Recreation teams along with boys Travel Teams ages 9 through 17.  Since 2015 he has exclusively coached girls travel teams, more specifically high school junior and senior ages.  These girls teams have competed at the Classic Div 2 and Div 1 levels winning pre and post season tournaments.  Mr. Foushee was the driving force behind girls soccer in Mebane, as recently as 2014 MYSA was not able to field girls travel teams at every age level. With his hard work and dedication, girls soccer is making it's mark on the state and national level.

Debbie Timberlake Bullins played Basketball and Volleyball at Elon College in each of her four years from 1970-1974.  After completing her Master's Degree from UNC-Chapel Hill, she began teaching PE, Health, and Social Studies at Woodlawn Middle School.  She was also the Woodlawn Middle School Athletic Director from 1975-2008.  Debbie coached numerous teams at Woodlawn, but also travel ball, and recreational teams.

Keynote Speaker

Brad Allen
- NFL Official, and CEO of North Carolina Senior Games will be the Keynote Speaker at the Mebane Sports Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony.  Mr. Allen is the President and Executive Director of North Carolina Senior Games, Inc., a statewide health promotion and wellness program for persons 50 years of age and better.  NCSG is the most extensive program of its type in the nation and administers the state's Senior-Olympic program.

Brad has also worked as a sports official for over thirty (30) years, beginning at the youth level, moving through the high school ranks, and then as a college football official, where he officiated five (5) major bowl games – including the 2012 Rose Bowl and the 2014 Sugar Bowl- plus the Army-Navy Game and the ACC Championship Game.  

Before the 2014 regular season, he entered the National Football League (NFL) as a Referee, becoming the first official to move directly from college to the NFL as a Referee since 1962.   Including the most recent NFL playoffs, Brad has earned five (5) post-season assignments. 

The Hall of Fame Committee has an ongoing search for potential inductees. If you would like to submit an entry to be considered by the committee you may e-mail the recommendation to
Aaron Davis.

Previous Sports Hall of Fame Recipients

Lewis Riggs
Frances C. Cook
Archie Walker
George Shacklford

Archie Wilborn
Linda Rice Martin
Lee Allison
Fred Brady

Carl Johnson
Talmage (Tal) Jobe, Sr.
Robby Rice
1946, 1947, 1948 Mebane H.S.Girls Basketball Teams

Estell Harper
Vernon Brown
1956 & 1957 Mebane H.S. Boys Basketball Teams

Gene Compton
Selorine Willborn Beard
Don Long

Tal Albernathy
T.D. Jones
Mike Terrell
Penelope "Penny" Butler

Geong L. Walters
1990-1991 Eastern Alamance Boys Basketball Team

Jimmy Scoggins
Talmage Jobe Jr.
Mickey Walker
Joe Young

Cliff Riley
Jimmy Mayton

Lawrence Keith
Steve Euliss
Angelo Bartis
Woody Durham
Dr. Wayne A. Gardner

Charles Jay "Shake" Harris
Thomas "Tim" May Rembert III
Donny Terrell
Jean White
Johnny Phelps